All Louisiana companies are required to get a Louisiana Workers’ Comp Insurance policy with a few exceptions.
Sole Proprietors, Partners, Corporate Officers, and LLC Members are all included in coverage, but have the opportunity to elect to be excluded.
Sole Proprietors and Partners who choose to be covered must do so at a minimum payroll of $45,600 as of May 1, 2017.
Corp Officers and LLC Members who are included in coverage must use a minimum payroll of $850 per week and a maximum payroll of $2,600
LLC Members can elect to be exempt if the member owns 10% or more shares in the company.
Businesses hiring entertainers and musicians who are providing services pertaining to a gig contract are not legally required to buy a work comp policy.
Employees covered by the Federal Employer’s Liability Act, the Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act and the Jones Act are excluded from workers comp coverage.
Officers and LLC members that are not compensated who sit on boards of directors of select non-profit organizations are excluded from work comp coverage.
Anyone doing work pertaining to the exploration, production, development or transportation of earth minerals is excluded from workers compensation.