All employers who have one or more part-time or full-time employees are required by law to buy workers comp insurance in Maine.
Sole-Proprietors, Partners and LLC Members are excluded from coverage, but can elect to be included for coverage.
Sole Proprietors and Partners who choose to be covered must do so at a minimum payroll of $39,700 as of March 1, 2016.
Corporate Officers are automatically included in coverage, but they may elect to be excluded. To be excluded from coverage the officer must own at least 20 percent of the outstanding stock of a corporation.
Election or Rejection of Work Comp Coverage Form: Maine Coverage Waiver Form
Corporate Officers and LLC Members who are included in coverage must utilize a minimum payroll of $750 per week and a maximum payroll of $3,100 per week for the purpose of rating workers comp premiums (as of 4/1/2016).